Northwest Iowa Teams Compete at State AAU Dual Team Tournament

Sat 3-29-2014

3rd to 8th grade Wrestlers from Northwest Iowa competed recently at the AAU State Dual Team Tournament in Wells Fargo Arena. Wrestlers were tapped to take part on the teams based on their individual performance at the district’s state qualifying tournament held in Spencer.  The Dual Team Tournament pits Iowa’s eight districts against each other in a team format, giving the young athletes across the region the opportunity to wrestle in a competitive team format.  Northwest Iowa came close to again sweeping the championships in all divisions, but fell just short of matching last year’s results.  The B and C divisions brought home championship trophies while the A division come up just 3 points short of being awarded a spot in the finals dual, ending up in 4th place. 
In the A division (3rd and 4th grade) pool duals, Northwest Iowa dominated the East District 67-9, beat the North Central District 39-38, and lost to the Southwest District 36-39.  In their placing dual, Northwest Iowa dropped their dual to the South Central District 52-27
In the B division (5th and 6th grade), Northwest Iowa won their way through the pool duals by defeating the Mid East District  40-39, Northeast District 53-27, and the South Central District 7 65-24.  In their championship dual, Northwest Iowa defeated the Southwest District 52-39.
In the C division (7th and 8th grade) pool duals, the Northwest District defeated the Southwest District 66-42, the Southeast District 71-49, and the Northeast District 66-28. In arguably the most exciting dual of the day, Northwest Iowa capped their perfect day by beating the South Central District 55-53.  Needing 16 team points out of the final three matches, the team’s heavyweights (Dakota Powell, Tyler Tschampel, and Spencer Trenary) came through in a big way for their team, each pinning their respective opponents to seal the win in the championship dual.
Area wrestlers participating on the 2014 Northwest Iowa State Dual Team include:
Division A: 
Hunter Kegley, Northern Storm, Sioux City
Payton Arnold, Team Predators, Sioux City
Cade Siebrecht, Fort Dodge Wrestling Club, Alta
Cason Johannes, Lil Orabs, Sheldon
Noah Parmelee, Team Predators, Sioux City
Cullan Koedam, Legends of Gold, Orange City
Sam Zindel, Cherokee Braves, Cherokee
Damon Schmid, Kingsley-Pierson Panthers, Kingsley
Carson Lynott, Legend of Gold, Hawarden
Zavion McMurran, Estherville
Matthew Wirtz, Little E-Hawks, Emmetsburg
Nick Bronstad, HMS Mathawks,, Hartley
Tanner Murray, GTRA Titans, Wallingford
Anthony Larson, HMS Mathawks, Hartley
Easton Fleshman, Doc’s Dudes, Inwood
Lyle Moore, HMS Mathawks, Sanborn
Kaiden Miller, North Union Wrestling, Armstrong
Division B: 
Wyatt Skudas, Hinton Mathawks, Hinton
Beau Klingensmith, Legends of Gold, Sergeant Bluff
Austin Kegley, Northern Storm, Sioux City
Casey Faulkenberry, Beaver Wrestling Club, Holstein
Adam Allard, Legends of Gold, Akron
Nate Curry, Legends of Gold, Sergeant Bluff
Dillon Lynott, Legends of Gold, Hawarden
Wes Ruden, Ironhawk Wrestling, Spirit Lake
Cale Wood, Cherokee Braves, Cherokee
Wade Mitchell, Woodbury Central Wildcats, Moville
Isaiah Spencer, Okoboji Wrestling Club, Okoboji
Kolby Harrington, Western States Prides, Sioux City
Alex DeRoos, Junkyard Dogs, Aurelia
Mason Griffin, Little E’Hawks, Curlew
Kole Wiegert, Junkyard Dogs, Storm Lake
Brandon Roemeling, Sioux County Grapplers, Boyden
Ryan Sterler, Lil Orabs, Sheldon
Zander Stoltzfus, Team Predators, Sioux City
Kobe Clayborne, Team Predators, Sioux City
Gabe Bronstad, HMS Mathawks, Hartley
Division C: 
Casey Beaver, Woodbury Central Wildcats, Moville
Jack Gaukel, SBL Warriors, Sergeant Bluff
Dakotah Johannes, Lil Orabs, Sheldon
Cobe Siebrecht, Fort Dodge Wrestling Club, Alta
Nicky Hollowell, SBL Warriors, Sergeant Bluff
Shea Ruffridge, Pocahontas Wrestling  Club, Pocahontas
Cooper Siebrecht, Fort Dodge Wrestling Club, Alta
Logan Koedam, Legends of Gold, Orange City
Garrett Arment, Woodbury Central Wildcats, Moville
Kory Van Oort, Legends of Gold, Hawarden
Rhyker Sims, SBL Warriors, Sergeant Bluff
Christopher Shima, Beaver Wrestling Club, Storm Lake
Kyler Rieck, Legends of Gold, Hartley
Jim Moss, Woodbury Central Wildcats, Moville
Justin Allaway, LeMars Wrestling Club, LeMars
Damien Ericson, Akron
Kolten Bus, Central Lyon
Preston Dunn, SBL Warriors, Sergeant Bluff
Alex Freiberg, SBL Warriors, Sergeant Bluff
Blake Anderson, Mat Rats, Ida Grove
Tyler Zeimen, Cherokee Braves, Cherokee
Hunter De Jong, SO Generals, Sibley
Tyler Anderson, Mat Rats, Ida Grove
Dakoda Powell, Okoboji Wrestling Club, Okoboji
Tyler Tschampel, Hinton Mathawks, HInton
Darlyn Marquez, West Sioux Falcons, Hawarden
Spencer Trenary, Team Valley, Rolfe