Iowa Lakes Laker Hall of Fame Class Announced for 2014

Thu 2-27-2014

The honorees for the second annual Laker Athletics Hall of Fame have been announced.

All inductees were selected because of their outstanding performance on and off the ‘court’ as well as the fact that they continued on to a four-year college before pursuing their career.  

Honorees will be recognized at a public banquet on Friday, February 28 at 6:30 p.m. in the Max O Pelzer Student Center on the Estherville campus of Iowa Lakes.  Those who would like to meet the inductees of the Laker Athletics Hall of Fame and share in the memories of the past are encouraged to attend.  Banquet tickets may be purchased for $20 by contacting Jessica VanLoy at 800-242-5106 ext. 7928; or, 712-362-7928; or by email at

One baseball and one softball player will be inducted into the 2014 Hall of Fame Class.  Tom Quastad, baseball, played from 1988-1990 and Samantha Rohr, softball, from 2004-2006.

Golfers include Jeff Soper and Rachel Maruno.  Soper was on the men’s team from 2002-2004; and Maruno was on the women’s team from 1999-2000.

Men’s basketball will induct one man into the Hall of Fame.  He is Tory Meiborg who played from 1993-1995.

The Laker Hall of Fame will also be honoring three athletes from Estherville Junior College who competed in all three sports while attending: football, basketball and baseball: Tom Elliot played from 1966-1968, Harry ‘Bill’ Holsclaw from 1949-1951, and the late George Hess who played from 1948-1950.

The last induction will be presented to members of the 1991-92 Men’s Basketball team who were national runner-ups in Div. II NJCAA.

The awards will be presented annually to outstanding Lakers by the Alumni & Friends Association.   Each honoree will receive an acrylic award and also be honored at halftime of the men’s basketball game against Southwestern Community College on Saturday, March 1.