Six Lakers named to all-region team

Tue 3-13-2018

AMES - Iowa Lakes Community College had six players honored on the all-Region XI men's basketball team.

Kyle Beisch and Dennis Joiner were first-team choices, Streeter McIlravy was named to the second team and Christian Kyles, Solomon Clayton and Nick Wagner were honorable mention selections.

Beisch was also a first-team choice last season. He was third in the conference in scoring with 17.8 points per game.

Joiner, who was second-team all-region as a freshman, posted 12.3 points and 4.4 rebounds per game.

Tray Croft of Iowa Central was named Player of the Year and Kirkwood's Bryan Petersen was named Coach of the Year.

First team
Wali Parks, soph., DMACC, Iowa City
Darius Lasley, soph., Ellsworth, Tama
Tray Croft, soph., Iowa Central, Anniston, Ala
Kyle Beisch, soph., Iowa Lakes, Fort Dodge
Dennis Joiner, soph., Iowa Lakes, Minneapolis Patrick Henry
Doug Wilson, soph., Kirkwood, Des Moines
Chris King, soph., Kirkwood, Des Moines
Terence Shelby Jr., soph., Southwestern, Peoria, Ill.
Gatdoar Kueth, soph., Southwestern, Des Moines
Second team
Lee Higgins, soph., DMACC, Chicago
Tristan Forsyth, soph., Ellsworth, Melbourne, Australia
Dallas Bailey, soph., Iowa Central, Denver
Streeter McIlravy, soph., Iowa Lakes, Solon
Bailey Kale, soph., Kirkwood, La Crosse
Ethan Meeker, soph., Kirkwood, Galesburg, Ill.
Ethan Steinbronn, soph., Little Priest, Maynard
Alijah Thomas, soph., Southwestern, Des Moines
Honorable mention
LJ Harris, soph., Ellsworth
Royshawn Webb, soph., Iowa Central, Cedar Rapids
Christian Kyles, soph., Iowa Lakes, Sioux City
Solomon Clayton, soph., Iowa Lakes, Fort Dodge
Nick Wagner, soph., Iowa Lakes, Galesville, Wis.
Jaycob Payne, soph., NIACC, West Haven, Utah
Nick Wurm, soph., NIACC, Adelaide, South Australia
Chad Moran, soph., Southwestern, Council Bluffs