Iowa Shrine Bowl Media Day Held In Spencer March 25

Thu 3-26-2015 []

The 43rd Annual Shrine Bowl Media Day Program was held in Spencer Wednesday March 25 at the Evening Shade Lodge #312.  The evening started with a dinner and then recognized the young athletes and cheerleaders that were selected to be apart of the game in July.

The Shrine Bowl is played Saturday July 25 in Cedar Falls and the UNI Dome.  It is an All Star Iowa High School football game that pits the North squad against the South squad.  The dividing line determining the squads is Highway 30.  Any school/athletes above Hwy 30 is on the North squad and any school/athletes below Hwy 30 is on the South Squad.  The players are selected by a process of nomination by coaches, balloting by state-wide sports media professionals, and official invitation from a representative of the Iowa Shrine Bowl.

The Iowa Shrine Bowl produces this game each year.  The game brings honor and recognition to the players, their schools and their communities.  It has also been an effective tool in raising money for The Shriner's Hospital For Children.

To date, the Iowa Shrine Bowl has raised over $2,268,000 for The Shriner's Hospitals for Children.  Funds for The Shriner's Hospitals For Children are developed by ticket sales, advertising in the Shrine Bowl program, merchandise sales, contributions and sponsorships.

Iowa Shrine Bowl, Inc is an incorporated 501(c)3 fundraising organization.  All profits from operations are sent to The Shriner's Hospital For Children.  The principle fundraising event of Iowa Shrine Bowl, Inc is the Iowa Shrine Bowl Game.  For more info on the game, visit



The North squad will have 5 area kids participating in the all star football game:


Nick Chapman - Emmetsburg


Justin Heinrichs - Estherville Lincoln Central


Cody Thompson - Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire


Austin Folsom - Spirit Lake


Blake Simons from Hartley Melvin Sanborn is also a member of the North Team but was not in attendance at the Spencer Media Day Program


Nick Chapman  Nick Chapman From Emmetsburg

Mike Dunlap  Emmetsburg Head Coach Mike Dunlap



Justin Heinrichs  Justin Heinrichs From Estherville

Andy Umthun  Estherville Head Coach Andy Umthun



Cody Thompson  Cody Thompson From GT/RA



Austin Folsom  Austin Folsom From Spirit Lake

Josh Bolluyt  Spirit Lake Head Coach Josh Bolluyt