Halverson, Amdahl win second straight features

Sat 7-20-2019

JACKSON - Brandon Halverson and Elliott Amdahl won their second straight features and Wayne Johnson picked up his first Jackson Motorplex win ever Friday night.

Halverson won the 20-lap NSL non-wing sprint cars A feature.

Clinton Bruns was second, with Jake Kouba, Jeremy Kerzman and Alex Schriever rounding out the top five. Halverson had quick time in his group’s qualifying session, with Neal Matuska and Kerzman leading the others.

Eric Schultz and Schriever won the heat races.

Amdahl became the first repeat Race Saver sprint cars winner this season as he won the 20-lap A feature.

Filling out the top five were Bill Johnson, John Lambertz, Colin Smith and Brandon Bosma. Heat winners were Lambertz, Bill Johnson and Amdahl.

Wayne Johnson of Knoxville led the distance of the 25-lap Midwest Power Series and Midwest Sprint Touring Series 360 sprint cars main event to win the Barb Wieskus Memorial. There were 38 360s on hand.

Thomas Kennedy was second, Matt Juhl third, Justin Henderson fourth and Lee Grosz fifth. Bill Boles, Wayne Johnson, Tommy Barber and Henderson were the heat race winners.

Jody Rosenboom won the B Main. Heat winners were Boles, Wayne Johnson, Grosz and Barber.

There are two nights of racing scheduled next week.

On Wednesday, it's IMCA A mods, IMCA stock cars, IMCA hobby stocks, IMCA sport mods and IMCA sport compacts. Friday is Tony Stewart Night featuring the All Star Circuit of Champions and RaceSaver sprint cars.