Grosz, Johnson, Schultz win features

Sun 8-18-2019

JACKSON - Lee Grosz, Bill Johnson and Eric Schultz claimed feature wins Saturday as Jackson Motorplex hosted Glenn Gillund Night.

Grosz (Watertown, S.D.) earned his second Midwest Power Series and Midwest Sprint Touring Series 360 win of the season and took over the lead in the track championship standings.

Dominic Scelzi (Fresno, Calif.) was second in the 25-lap feature, with Dusty Zomer (Brandon), Trey Starks (Puyallup, Wash.) and Matt Juhl (Tea, S.D.) rounding out the top five.

Skylar Prochaska (Lakefield) was seventh, Derrik Lusk (Jackson) ninth, Scott Winters (Butterfield) 10th and Brandon Halverson (Jackson) 17th.

Brandon Halverson won the B feature, with Scelzi winning the dash.

Juhl, Chase Viebrock (New Richmond, Wis.), Jack Dover (Springfield, Neb.) and Scelzi were heat race winners.

Johnson (St. Peter) extended his lead in the RaceSaver sprint car class as he won his second feature of the season. He started the feature fifth and took the top spot approximately two thirds of the way through the 20-lap A Main.

Ryan Voss (Okoboji) was second, with Colin Smith (Sheldon) third, Mike Moore (Des Moines) fourth and Jody Rosenboom (Rock Rapids) fifth.

Brant O'Banion (Viborg, S.D.) and Voss each won a heat race.

Schultz posted his first NSL non-wing sprint car win of the season.

Craig Campton (Pardeeville, Wis.), Johnny Parsons III (Owatonna), Doug Schenck (Cottage Grove, Wis.,) and Jimmy Kouba (Byron) rounded out the top five.

Halverson set quick time during qualifying and won a heat race. Jake Kouba (Minneapolis) won the other heat race.

Jackson Motorplex will take next weekend off before hosting the three-night 360 Nationals Aug. 30-Sept. 1. Each night features the Midwest Power Series and Midwest Sprint Touring Series 360 sprint cars and the NSL non-wing sprint cars.