Fairmont in home stretch; Larson wins Capitani Classic

Mon 8-17-2020

FAIRMONT – Only one points leader won a feature Saturday night as the competition for the top spot tightened up Satuday at Fairmont Raceway.

Jeff Larson (Lakefield) won the IMCA Stock feature, with Kelly Shryock (Fertile) second and Justin Luinenburg (Reading) third.

Larson has a 22-point lead over Luinenberg in the point standings in that class.

Kelly Shryock (Fertile) was the IMCA Modifieds winner, with Oliver Kollofski (Fairmont) second and Brandon Beckendorf (Danube) third.

Beckendorf leads Shryock by 10 points.

Jared Boumeester (Waseca) tightened up the IMCA Sport Mods point standings by winning Saturday's feature. Matthew Looft (Swea City) was second and Randy Winter (Winnebago) third.

Looft's lead over Boumeester in the point standings is now five points.

Parker Larson (Granada) was the IMCA Hobby Stocks winner, followed by Dan Strandberg (Worthington) and Malik Sampson (Worthington).

Malik Sampson leads the point standings by five points over both Larson and Keeran Sampson (Worthinngton).

Brandon Hartmann (Fairmont) won the IMCA Sport Compacts feature, with Jaedon Erickson (Welcome) second and Bubba Brown (Jackson) third.

Erickson is the points leader, with a seven-point advantage over Austin Friedrich (St. James) and 10 over Brown.

There are two races remaining on the schedule this year at Fairmont Raceway, starting with a special Tuesday with all IMCA classes running.

Season Championship Night is Aug. 29.

One and Only

Kyle Larson dominated Saturday at Knoxville Raceway, winning the Capitani Classic and the $50,000 first-place prize.

David Gravel was second and Logan Schuchart third.