Some Local School Boards Will Have New Faces On Them Following Sept. 12th Election

Fri 8-4-2017

(Spirit Lake)-- Some area school boards will have new faces on them following next month's election.

In the Spirit Lake School District two seats are up for election. Scott Trautman is seeking re-election to his seat. Another incumbent who’s seat is on the ballot, Todd Hummel, didn't file for re-election. Kerri McKim has filed for that seat.

Two seats are on the ballot in the Okoboji Community School District. Incumbents Jeff Nielsen and Stacy Titterington didn't file for re-election. Seven people are running for the two open seats. They include Shannon Anderson, Cheryl Aumer, Brad Droegmiller, Todd Gonnerman, Juli Johnson, James Slipke and Daniel Winkowitsch.

In the Harris-Lake Park Community School District, Steve Harmon is running for the district 4 seat and Chad Roberts Hipma filed for the district 2 seat.

Voters in Dickinson county will also be casting ballots for the district 3 seat on the board of trustees of Iowa Lakes Community College. Christopher Fuhrman is running for the seat.

The filing period for the September 12th school board election closed Thursday.

Filing for city elections, meanwhile, opens August 28th and runs through September 21st. City elections will be held November 7th.