Several NW Iowa Counties Declared Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due To Drought

Sat 9-19-2020

(Undated)-- The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced Friday 10 Iowa counties have been designated primary natural disaster areas due to ongoing drought. Buena Vista, Ida, and Pocahontas are among them. Producers in contiguous counties, including Cherokee, Clay, O'Brien and Palo Alto counties, are also eligible to apply for assistance.

The designation makes it possible for producers in the affected counties to apply for emergency loans to meet recovery needs such as replacement of essential equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinancing of certain debts. 

The deadline to apply for the loans is May 10th, 2021.

Farmers should contact their local USDA service center for information on eligibility requirements and application procedures. More information can also be found at