Several Local Drinking Water Utilities Receive Special Recognition For Fluoridation

Sat 11-2-2019

(Des Moines)-- 107 Iowa communities, including several in northwest Iowa, have received a water fluoridation quality award from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Locally, they include Algona, Bancroft, Emmetsburg, Estherville, Hartley, Milford, Paullina, Sibley, Spencer, Spirit Lake, and Terril.

Eight communities, including Milford Municipal Utilities and Spirit Lake Water Works, received a 50-year award for “maintaining continuous community water fluoridation from 1968 to 2018. Nationally, 1,656 public water systems in 30 states received that recognition for 2018.