Iowa DNR Announces Assignment Of A New State Conservation Officer To Dickinson County

Wed 1-13-2021

(Des Moines)-- The Iowa Department of Natural Resources has announced the assignment of a new State Conservation Officer to Dickinson county. The agency says Blake Mills has been assigned to Dickinson county. They say the hiring of Mills was in the works many months prior to the passing of officer Steve Reighard.

Mills was one of four new state conservation officers sworn in January 8th.

The DNR says all four will undergo several months of training before reporting to their assigned territories later this year.

The Iowa DNR's Law Enforcement Bureau has 85 conservation officers including six captains, 10 sergeants and five recreational safety officers. All are fully certified state peace officers. They are also designated as U.S. Federal deputy game wardens and may cross statelines when violations of federal wildlife laws have been committed.

New Conservation Officers sworn in: Left to right: Blake Mills, assigned to Dickinson county; Chad Horn, assigned to Wapello and Davis counties; Nate Carr, assigned to Hamilton and Hardin counties; and Lynn Koch, assigned to Black Hawk and Bremer counties.