ILCC Music Dept. Announces Results Of Its 2021 Jazz Band Contest

Tue 2-16-2021

(Estherville, Iowa) The Music Department of Iowa Lakes Community College announces the 2021 Jazz Band Contest winners held on February 3 and February 11. Many local high-school bands performed jazz classics throughout the competition, which was live-streamed online for viewers.

The first-place winner of the Class 1A division is Newell Fonda, directed by Colleen Hecht.

For the Class 2A division, first place goes to West Lyon, directed by Drew Balta, second place to Okoboji, directed by James Kunz, and third place to Central Lyon, directed by Sherwin Langholdt.

The top 3 bands in the Class 3A division are MOC-Floyd Valley, directed by Matthew Honken in the first place; Sioux Center Jazz 1, directed by Megan Powell, in second place; and Spirit Lake, directed by Tyler Pedersen, in third place.

Storm Lake Jazz, directed by Corbet Butler, takes first place in the Class 4A division.

Many individuals also won the Outstanding Soloist Awards.

Judges scored the jazz bands based on ensemble playing, rhythm section, style comprehension, solos, improvisation, and programming. On-demand viewing of the 2021 Jazz Band Contest is available at