Governor Kim Reynolds Seeks Presidential Declaration For 30 Counties Hit By Severe Weather & Flooding, Including Dickinson

Thu 8-2-2018

(Des Moines)-- Governor Kim Reynolds is seeking a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 30 Iowa counties, including several in northwest Iowa, where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and flooding from June 6th through July 2nd.

The Governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance Program.

Northwest Iowa counties included in the request are Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto and Pocahontas counties.

Public Assistance program funding is used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during, and debris removal after, severe weather. Following a joint federal, state, and local preliminary damage assessment of the 30 counties, it was estimated the severe weather caused more than $16 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance program.

The Governor also requested funding under FEMA's Individual Assistance program for four counties, including Dickinson. Funding from that program provides programs and services to victims to maximize recovery, including assistance with housing, personal property replacement, medical expenses and legal services.

The Governor also requested the Small Business Administration make low-interest loans available and for the U.S. Department of Agriculture to provide appropriate assistance in the four counties.