Governor Kim Reynolds Issues Disaster Proclamation For Several Counties In The Region

Thu 3-14-2019

(Des Moines)-- Governor Kim Reynolds today (Thurs.) issued a disaster proclamation for a number of Iowa counties hit hard by flooding in the past 24 hours. 21 counties are listed in the proclamation, including Kossuth, O'Brien and Sioux counties in our region.

Residents of those counties should report damage to help local and state officials better understand the extent of what's taken place.

The designation makes those counties eligible for the Individual Assistance Grant Program and Disaster Case Management. Applications and instructions for the Individual Grant Program are available at the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

A statement issued this afternoon by the Governor's Office says the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and several state and federal agencies are monitoring the rapidly-changing conditions at locations throughout the state.