Deadline To Vote In Farm Service Agency County Committee Elections Extended

Wed 11-30-2016 []

(Des Moines)-- The U.S. Department of Agriculture Iowa Farm Service Agency Executive Director John Whitaker has announced the deadline to submit ballots for the 2016 County Committee Elections has been extended. Eligible voters now have until December 13th to return ballots to their local FSA offices.

Whitaker says the deadline was extended to ensure farmers and ranchers have sufficient time to vote. Ballots may be picked up at local FSA offices. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than December 13th, 2016.

County Committee members oversee the various FSA programs that are offered in their county. Each member serves a three-year term. Producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program to be eligible to vote in the County Committee Election.