Clay County Voters To Vote March 7th To Fill Vacancies On Board Of Supervisors & Spencer City Council

Wed 2-15-2017

(Spencer)-- Voters in Clay county will head to the polls March 7th for a special election to fill vacancies on the board of supervisors and Spencer City Council.

Five people have filed to run for the vacancy on the board of supervisors created when Linda Swanson recently passed away. R.D. Johnson, Marty Koenig, Dan Skelton, Mike Wilson and Loren Reit are running for the seat.

Four people are running for the vacant seat representing ward four on the Spencer City Council. They include Duane Bates, Leann Jacobsen, Dana Kramer and Terry Peterson.

Only residents living in Spencer's 4th ward will be able to vote in the special city election.

This past Friday was the deadline for candidates to file papers.

Absentee voting will get underway once ballots are prepared. Elections officials say that could happen sometime next week.

Ballots may be requested through the Clay County Auditor's Office.