Area High School Seniors Selected For 2020 Iowa Governor's Scholar Program

Thu 5-14-2020

(Des Moines)-- A number of area high school seniors have been selected for inclusion to the 2020 Iowa Governor's Scholar Program.

The Governor's Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association and the Iowa Farm Bureau have offered the program since 2003. 

Students were selected for the program by their respective high school as their highest academic achievers. The honorees will receive a plaque and certificate commemorating the achievement. The in-person ceremony for this year had to be cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

High school seniors being recognized from our area include Joseph Tilstra of Central Lyon; Kayden Waldner of Cherokee; Lindsay Carter of Emmetsburg; Lena McCoy of Estherville-Lincoln Central; Matthew Haken of George-Little Rock; Madison Hough of Graettinger-Terril; McKenzie Heikens of Harris-Lake Park; Joseph Ahlers of Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn; Martha Stein of Okoboji; Katie Long of Ruthven-Ayrshire; Hannah Uhl of Sheldon; Claire Hoppe of Sibley-Ocheyedan; Caleb Rock of Sioux Central; Natalie Kroll and Emma Louder of Spencer; Cail Donkersloot of Spirit Lake; Samuel Peters of Storm Lake St. Mary's; Tyler Dvergsten and Jessica Slight of Storm Lake; and Madison Wickman of West Bend-Mallard.